We have a macOS application that adds entries to the Authorization Database (system.login.console) as part of its setup. We observed that after upgrading from macOS Tahoe to the macOS Golden Gate beta, the entries added by our application were removed, and the default system.login.console configuration was restored.
Is this expected behavior in the current Golden Gate beta, or is it a known issue? If it is a known issue, is there an expectation that it will be addressed in a future beta release?
Additionally, is there any recommended approach for preserving or restoring application-specific Authorization Database entries across major macOS upgrades?
It would be of great help if there is any suggested approach for the same.
Ah, right, I misremembered. Sorry about that.
It’s not that the database is reset as a whole, but rather than specific rights got reset. At the time — and this was back in 2022 — the developer filed a bug about this (FB9986388) and that was returned as ‘behaves correctly’.
I went spelunking in Radar and found numerous similar bugs that were returned in the same way.
If I understand this properly, this is driven by the version property of each rule and right, for example:
% security authorizationdb read system.login.console | plutil -p -
…
{
…
"version" => 11
}
And you can see the code for this is Darwin.
Share and Enjoy
—
Quinn “The Eskimo!” @ Developer Technical Support @ Apple
let myEmail = "eskimo" + "1" + "@" + "apple.com"